Wild Olive Stitch Swap

I mentioned to you the other day that I signed up for the WILD OLIVE STITCH SWAP.  It was totally anonymous, which was pretty cool.  We get our partners names, the ones WE will be stitching for and some info about them.  Then we stitch them something that will fit in a 4″ hoop.  You post sneak peak photos on flickr and people comment with the hopes that it is theirs that is posted.

I also mentioned that I had a well known quilter and stitcher as my partner and how intimated I am about it.  He has now received his hoop so I can unveil everything.  My partner was John Adams the QUILTDAD.    His work is great, he is published in magazines, has an online magazine, and so much more.

I have never been more careful to stitch a design then I was when I stitched this one.

In fact I learned a new stitch to make it stand out more.  I’ve never used a stem stitch before but decided it was time.  I used that stitch as my outline stitch, a satin stitch for the eyes and nose, running stitch for the light rays and a backstitch for the lightbulb.

I really loved stitching Cate Anevski designs and will be making the rest of the animal expressions as well.

5 Comments

Filed under Stitchery

5 responses to “Wild Olive Stitch Swap

  1. The picture isn’t showing up for some reason, but since I have the original right hear in front of me I can tell you how much I LOVE it, and how much I appreciate that you made it for me!! Thanks again!

    • Jen

      John
      What a treat to have you stop by and leave a comment. I read it aloud to my husband because it was so nice :) I am happy you love it and was so pleased to make it for you. You are more than welcome and thank you for turning me on to her amazing designs.

  2. Of course, I meant to type “here”. : )

  3. eriven

    I adore your finished hoop, nicely done :)

Leave a Reply

