Hocuspocusville

I did it!  I finally did it!  It took me a year and 3 months, but I finally completed my Hocuspocusville quilt.

It was even on my top 31 things to do before I turn 32.

My 30s weren’t too bad to be honest.  But still I feel not easy about being in my 30s.

I’ve decided that this year I am going to make a list of things I would like to do before I hit 32.

1.  Learn to paddleboard

2. Finish a quilt with embroidery in it.  

Completed March 31, 2012 – HocusPocus Ville

3. Snorkel so I am not afraid

4. Make a multiple layer cake

 
This was a BOM (block of the month) put on by Valerie at Pastimes Online.     It contains a combination of quilting cottons and silks and is stitched using Weeks dye works 2 strand floss in mascara and pumpkin.  I also used some black and orange seed beads as some accents like lights.  Valerie put on a terrific BOM and her monthly blog entries about assembly was very helpful.  Her finishing kit was incredible.    She let us pick the border, the zinger border, backing and binding colors.  We also were able to select between an all cotton finishing kit or a cotton/silk kit.  I went with all cotton because I liked my fabric choices.
The pattern is from Crabapple Hill Stitchery with a modified setting (how it is put together).
I loved stitching this one.  I enjoyed every minute….alright hour, of stitching.  I stitch this anywhere I could.  At home, in the car traveling, camping,  in the airplane going to Maui, and in Maui.
In the stitched blocks I quilted a small stipple pattern.  I am so happy with how they turned out.  If I do say so myself it really makes the stitching stand out – which was what I was after.
On the 9 patch/solid border around the middle blocks I used a curvy key/etch n sketch pattern (from Leah Day).  I first tried a wavy quilting that I think is terrific that bijou lovely uses so much, but it bunched my fabric a little bit.  I will just have to use it on something else.
On the corner stone blocks I stitched a spiderweb, using a sketch stitch technique.  I really am happy with how those turned out.  It was a harder action then I thought it was – even with all the practice I had done before hand.
In my borders I used the pumpkin patch stitch that Leah Day also had on her free motion quilting blog.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take a photo of that.
So there it is.  My finished quilt.  If you like stitching, give this one a try.  I would do it again in a heart beat.
15 Comments

Filed under BOM, Quilting, Stitchery

15 responses to “Hocuspocusville

  1. I love this! I have a similar pattern that calls my name once in awhile. It’s so hard for me to do hand work. Just don’t have the discipline.

    • Jen

      Thanks Candy. I appreciate you stopping by the blog and commenting. I too have those unmotivated days, I have two major ones on hoops and I just slowly stitch away.

  2. Karen

    Wow! You are just so amazing! This stitching is very impressive! Congrats on finishing this quilt! I know many many hours went into this one!

  3. Looks fabulous. I have been wanting to make this quilt for awhile now

  4. Love, love, love that quilt!!! The quilting is “tops” (especially like the spider web!!!). Awesome job! Leah Day’s site certainly is a terrific resource for quilting motifs and you used it so well. This is quite a large item to cross off your ’31 list’!!! Hugs, Doreen

  5. racene bolin

    Where can you fine the Hocuspousville pattern now? Saw it made up at a quilt show.

    • Jen

      You can find the pattern on the designer’s website Crabapple Hill under the Autumn/Halloween Patterns. That is where I would go to find it.
      It is super fun to make – as most of Crabapple Hill patterns are.

  6. Karen

    Always good to meet another fellow Canadian. Great job on this quilt! I have just finished number 6 of the 12. I am hoping to have my done for the quilt show the guild is having next June.

    Karen

    • Jen

      Yeah for Canadian Quilters. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I loved making this quilt. I hope you are loving it too. Please send me a photo of your finished quilt. Would love to see it.

  7. Wow, this quilt is amazing!! Sew beautiful.

  8. I just ordered this pattern today and was poking around to see who had finished it. You did an incredible job! I am in awe. I hope mine turns out well too.

    • Jen

      Thanks for stopping by and making such a nice comment. It is a terrific pattern – though mine is set differently then what is listed. I loved stitching the blocks so much. This is one of my all time favorites. I hope to see how yours takes shape.

Leave a Reply

