Back to Work

My time has come, after 10 wonderful months of being at home with Ella, for me to head back to work. Last Monday, I returned to my school and my full time teaching position.

It was a day filled with mixed emotions to say the least.  I was excited to be back and flailing my arms and working through musical challenges, but I was missing my time with Ella.  Our play time, eating meals together, and splashing in the bath.  Just being with her and her silly expressions and laughs I was going to miss terribly.

I mean seriously look at that little face, how could you not miss being with her.  The first day was a  busy day, with little blips here and there, like passwords not being remembered (it had been 10 months and they weren’t exactly priorities during that time to remember) and no class lists to be found.  As I watched the clock throughout the day I found myself thinking about what Ella would be doing, napping, playing or maybe having a bite to eat.

In all honesty it was a great week.  The students were incredible and made the transition back into work an easy one.  I feel bad that I had such a great week though and enjoyed my time there, guilt.  I missed Ella and our time together.  I was anxious to get home every evening and spend time with her.  I have that fear of missing something.

It was a tough decision to go back, I basically fought it with the moment she was born until the day I walked into the classroom again.  The next 3 months will be a real learning experience for me with a lot of questions left to answer.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back to Work

  1. Working Mom & Mom Mom……..BUT always a “Mom”!!!!!……life will never be the same! Hugs……………….

  2. she is just darling! you are a fantastic mama for her whether working or at home.. lots of love :)

  3. Gosh Jen…I hear your feelings. My only child will be 20 in two months, but I clearly remember what it felt like to return to work. Praying for God’s grace as you navigate this time.

  4. Best wishes! ALL the children in your life will be blessed! :)

Leave a Reply

