Hazel the Hedgehood

Close friends of our just had a beautiful baby girl.  Though we didn’t know that until her arrival, 5 weeks before she was scheduled to arrive.

Oddly, the same day I was about to begin the little cutie’s quilt was the same day she decided to arrive.  I finally decided on Hazel the Hedgehog by Elizabeth Hartman in solid colours that would be great for either a boy or a girl.  I thought the pattern was fun, cute and something that again a boy or a girl would love.

I cut the pieces while I waited for the call announcing the arrival.  That Saturday I began putting Hazel together.  It was a straight forward pattern and super fun to make.  Due to inability to sleep that Saturday night I was able to finish the other 8 blocks and put the top together.  A week later the top was done and washed for the baby shower.

I love how Hazel turned out, especially in solid fabrics.  Can’t wait to make another one or two or a GIANT Hazel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilting

Leave a Reply

