Sewing Attempt #5: Poochie Bag

It was a very busy day today.  After the news about my grandma came I decided to put myself to work.  I finally finished painting my studio the pale daffodil color and tomorrow will tackle the trim of the room (to cover up all the “mistakes” I made).  Once I finished the painting and showered to get the paint off my hands, arms, cheek, nose, feet (top and bottom) and out of my hair I headed back to the Staples store to copy a pattern for a sewing organizer.  This, by the way, was a redo job – another post altogether.  After Staples I headed off to Michael’s to pick up some embroidery floss to finish my needle case.

Needle Case Stage 1

This is just a hint of a needle case I am working on.  It is a wonderful kit that I purchased from Sue Spargo Folk Art Quilt that was featured in American Patchwork and Quilting for the month of October.  It is a work in progress because the front is all hand done.

Anyways, once I was home and motivated I got thinking about a friend of mine who had a rough couple days, which unfortunately I still have yet to find out about and wondering what would cheer her up.  Then I remembered that I saw a wickedly cute bag on this blog that I love to read Happy Zombie. She featured this pattern called the poochie bag and I decided that who wouldn’t want one -simply for the name itself.  It is awesome because it is entirely made from 3 fat quarters – check it out it is awesome.  I found 3 purple fat quarters and went to town.  Purple because that is her favorite color.  Molly wasn’t interested in helping out once again – she decided to lounge. Molly chilaxing

The instructions were easy to follow and the bag turned out super cute. Though I don’t think I did the cute milk carton corners properly. Something went awry there and they are not as boxy as I would have liked.  I’ll have to make another one to fit that.  Good thing I have some more fat quarters around.

I hope she likes it.  I’m going to fill it with something awesome and give it to her as a present.

Poochie Bag Poochie Bag 2

Learned Today:

Not all fat quarters are created equal, some are 2 inches shorter than they say they are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

