Creative Stitches Show

First, let me start by saying I am that smart.  If you recall I mentioned the other day that I was having some trouble with my machine – again.  Well it turns out I AM THE TROUBLE.  I got talking with the lovely lady at the sewing store who sold me my machine.  After something she said, I started thinking, “Maybe the problem is me, human error is usually the cause of the mistakes with the machines.” Then my friend Anne reminded me about her trouble – that turned out to be something silly.  So after the show today, I got home, relaxed a bit, and then tried the machine again…and guess what?  Yep you guessed it, the machine started working again – IT WAS ALL ME!  I’m glad that it all turned out and that I didn’t have to take it in, but am annoyed that I couldn’t get it working.

Anyways, let me move on.  Yesterday and today my friend Anne and I went to the Creative Stitches Show.  It was my first time going and I wasn’t sure what to expect at all.  The show is a combination of quilting, sewing, and scrapbooking.  I have to be honest, I don’t quite understand the scrapbooking at the stitches show – may the scrapbookers now use stitching in their pages.  I don’t know – when I scrapbooked in high school and university it wasn’t anything like it is now so seeing their booths and their workshops, and all the luggage the ladies were bringing in for the workshops.  It was quite a scene.

We both got the festival pass which got us in both days.  The first day we mostly looked around at the booths from the quilt and sewing shops.  They have amazing things there from the quilt kits, to the fabric, to the completed quilts that just make me envy their talent and yet extremely excited to get started on a quilt.  I was introduced to some amazing quilt stores that happen to be almost in my back yard – well close enough that I could make a day trip out of it, or have it sent from within Canada anyways.  I found some wonderful patterns and a quilt kit that I’ve had my eye on for months now for Christmas.  It might not get complete until next Christmas but I’m so excited about it.  I also picked up some wonderful Fat Quarters for $1.99 – you just can’t beat that and it is needed for a class I have coming up.  I didn’t stay the whole day as I had to a very important engagement that afternoon – unfortunately it was the afternoon of my grandma’s funeral.

We went back first thing this morning, did a little more looking around and attended some interesting classes.  We saw the one block wonder, how to get rid of your stash of left over fabrics, how to slim down your fat quarters into a beautiful quilt, and what to do with charm squares.  By the end I was completely inspired and couldn’t wait to get home and try to get the machine working, and as I mentioned above I got it working and did a bit of sewing tonight.  I also saw these super cute things called kookie stationery. They are cookies, actual cookies, with royal icing on the top that makes the cookie look like a piece of stationary and you can write on the cookies with an edible marker.  Click their name and have a look at them – so cute!!!

I enjoyed the show and now have MANY MANY PROJECTS to get started on.  I’ll be sewing forever.  LOVE IT!

1 Comment

Filed under Everyday Life, Sewing

One response to “Creative Stitches Show

  1. Pingback: Introducing… My Second Quilt « Sew What!

Leave a Reply

