Sewing Attempt #7: Foundation Paper Pieceing

Quite a while ago I feel in love with the fabric from Basic Grey – FIGGY PUDDING!  I love the colors and patterns on it so much that I began my hunt for them.  While I was at the Creative Stitching Show in September I saw the kit for the beautiful quilt top that I had downloaded a while before.  After pacing up and down the booth, humming and hahhing if I should buy it or not, I decided that it should be mine.  I bought that within the first 30 minutes of arriving.  I also found a little later on a beautiful table runner made of the same cute trees and with Figgy Pudding….so I naturally purchased that too.  A few weeks ago I decided it was time to get down to business and start making the table runner….start small I thought.  I read the instructions – which between me and you were NOT CLEAR AT ALL!!!!  So I once again had to go knocking on my friend Anne’s door.  To my suprise it was a paper pieceing idea.  Great….just what I needed there.  She showed me how to do by practicing to make a wall hanger.  We walked through the whole process from start to finish.  I learned the backing, batting and binding steps – even the stitch in the ditch step. 

So what do you think?  I’ve got all my paper pieces ready to go, now for the sewing.  I hope it goes well….looks like a Thursday night project for sure. 

  Learned Today:

Not all pattern instructions are written well at all.  And just because it is marked as a beginner doesn’t mean it is actually for a beginner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

