Half Square Triangle, How I LOATH THEE!

It is a well known fact among my friends and quilters who know me that I am not a fan of the half square triangle.  I groan every time I see one or know I have to do one.  In fact I often will shy away from a pattern if it has any of them.  Unfortunately, it seems that almost ALL quilt patterns feature a 1/2 square triangle somewhere.  It only leaves a few quilt blocks that I would be able to do if I wanted to avoid all of those horrid triangles all together.

I don’t understand what my problem is.  I can get them matched up, middle drawn and seams sewed on either side.  I can even cut them out and press them.  At that step I am so pleased with what they look like.  Somehow I make an error in my squaring (to be honest I didn’t know about the bias square ruler until a little while ago) and when I put them together I CUT OFF ALL MY POINTS!  AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

Another unfortunate thing is that the block patterns from my Bible Block feature A LOT of 1/2 square triangles.  I think there has been one in almost all of blocks we have made so far, and looking at the finished product there are more to come.

This months pattern features ALL 1/2 square triangles.  Great, just what I need.  Today I might try and put it together.  For now here is a note my friend left for me on the pattern.

Learned today:

I need to find a better way to do 1/2 square triangles.  Anyone have any suggestions?  Please?

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Block, BOM, Sewing

Leave a Reply

