Half Square Triangle, How I LOATH THEE! Part 2

To Do…

1. Figure out what comments to write on my report cards

2. Enter my marks and comments into report cards

3. Finish Bible Block Number 5

4. Plan what I want to do on my birthday.

5. Pin and quilt Ander’s  quilt

That isn’t even a quarter of my list, but these are my priorities right now.  Well I’m working on number 1, thinking about number 5 – have it planned to be done on Thursday night, number 2 will be dealt with over the week during preps, but I am pleased to report that number 3 is DONE!

You heard me right, the Bible Block that is ALL (except for two squares and an embroidered rectangle) 1/2 square triangles is complete. And between you and me, I think it my best one yet – even with all the HST (half square triangles).

Wow, look at that picture, the points are pretty much still intact.  Want to know my secret?  I got this amazing ruler tool.  It was recommended to me by Linda at Rumpled Quilt Skins, she knows I’m in Bible block and knows how many of the HSTs there are.  It is from June Tailor and it is called the Perfect Half Square Triangle Ruler. The first time I tried it I didn’t have the greatest luck, it could be because I wasn’t really sure how the thing worked – yes I did read the directions but didn’t understand them.  Now I do and I am a pro at the ruler.  The only problem with it is that it only trims squares that are a size and a half (1.5, 2.5 etc.) some squares I have to deal with are 3″ or 2″  I guess I could find another square ruler for it, but this one gave me my confidence back for sure.

If you fear the HALF SQUARE TRIANGLE, you may want to purchase the amazing ruler, it helped me move a little forward with the HST and making me look at a few more patterns.

Learned today:

With the proper tools and knowledge HST aren’t so bad – but don’t let too many people know my feelings are changing 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Bible Block, Everyday Life

5 responses to “Half Square Triangle, How I LOATH THEE! Part 2

  1. your blok turned out great!! I love the colours you chose and the same is so perfect!
    Nice job!
    Valerie
    http://www.pastimesonline.ca/vals-quilting/

  2. I meant to type the saying is so perfect!!

    • Jen

      Thanks Valerie. I think it turned out really well too, not to toot my horn or anything. I’m pleased with the saying too. Hope all is well with you.

  3. jdpauls

    those are amazing words to live by. i am glad you are who you are. you are some thing pretty terrific. got the birthday thing figured out yet?

Leave a Reply

