The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt

See full size image
My birthday was one week ago today….yikes, I’ve been this age for a week now…between you and me I’m having some issues with being this age.  Why? So many reasons in fact, lets just not talk about them.
Anyways, for my birthday my husband got me a membership to the BOM “The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt”.  I saw it in one of the magazines I enjoy reading and I mentioned it to him; ok, practically ordered the BOM for him, that I would like it for my birthday.

When I began quilting I didn’t think that I would enjoy the traditional settings and blocks.  I thought for sure I would be one of those modern quilters who go for crazy colors and modern fabric and I’ve been stalking the Modern Quilt Guild website hoping that someone with more experience would set up a guild in Calgary.  But yet, what fabrics and patterns have I been working on lately?  Traditional, Civil War reproductions and I’ve enjoyed them.  But I still have a very modern stash built up, though my stash of fabrics have all been assigned projects.

Back to the book.  For those of you who don’t know this book, here is what I understand so far.  In 1922, the Farmer’s Wife Magazine had a contest.  They asked their readers “If you had a daughter of marriageable age, wold you, in the light of your own experience, want her to marry a farmer?” They did this because they wanted to prove to people that farm life wasn’t as undesirable as most city dwellers thought it was.  This book features excerpts of the winning letters and blocks that accompany them.
So far I have 3 months to get started on, yep I’m behind before I even got a chance to get started, oh well no rush.  They send you the fabric for 4 blocks (6″ blocks might I add) each month.  The book comes with a CD ROM which has the templates on it.  I’ve never used templates before so this should be an experience.  Maybe I’ll grab some scraps and try one out first to get the hang of it, so I don’t some how wreck the fabric.  I do have my templates cut out for the first four blocks so at least I’m ahead there.
Has anyone tried this BOM?
Any tips you can give me?
ANYTHING?
NOTE: So I was looking at my packages this morning and it turns out I informed you of something that is completely WRONG.  Each month there is 10 of those 6″ blocks, not 4.  Sorry about that.
6 Comments

Filed under BOM, Books, Everyday Life, The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt

6 responses to “The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt

  1. jomaj

    I started out a very rigid, traditional quilter and have now moved toward modern colors and patterns! I have always loved this sampler quilt, and now I’m terribly tempted to do this!

  2. Hi Jenny, when I started quilting I wasn’t too keen on fabrics with patterns or any kind…yes that is correct I wanted to work with solids 🙂 They quickly referred to my first quilt as an Amish quilt. then I started to warm up to the printed fabrics well almost fell in LOVE with them lol.
    Working with templates can be tricky but generally they provide you with a full 1/4″ seam allowance on each template – which is nicer then a scant 1/4″. My mum just taught me a trick with the templates pin them to your fabric as if you were cutting out a sewing pattern, and cut the shapes out this way instead of tracing them (like I’ve done for years) as you will get a perfect piece.
    Good luck, I’ve always been interested in this book and doing this sampler, the story has really peaked my interested – thanks for that.
    Happy belated, mine’s coming up soon..I don’t like the ODD years 🙂
    Valerie
    http://www.pastimesonline.ca/vals-quilting

    • Jen

      Thats funny that you only wanted to work in solids. Not a bad idea either, there are some great patterns out that only use solids. Thanks the tips on the templates, I’ll give that a try because I’m not really looking forward to all the tracing – yuck!
      Let me know if you want to look at the book and the fabrics for the blocks to see if it is something you might want to try with the company I’m going through. I’d be happy to show you.

      Wishing you the best.
      j

  3. Betty

    thanks for answer to my question….do templates include 1/4 inch……

Leave a Reply

