Primitive Tree

I was on Snickerdoodle Dreams the other day and discovered that Valerie from Pastimes Online was the guest honeypot, then I noticed that Valerie also mentioned it in her blog. So I took a trip over to Snickerdoodle Dreams and discovered a wonderful idea that she listed, something called the Primitive Tree. It is a primitive looking tree that you were free to design and decorate as you wanted.  So I decided to give it a try.  On Friday night while I was trying to recuperate from another round of band camp I began thinking about what I could do and waiting to have my cable connected (again – I touched some wires I shouldn’t have).  On Saturday after I finished the chores I began designing my pattern.  I love the little birds from Cinderberry Stitches and thought I would pay homage to them on my tree by trying to free hand them – I think they turned out well.  Once I had them drawn, I traced them onto my Kona Cotton (natural) and have been working on it since then.  Finally finished tonight.

I embroidered this using back, satin and running stitches and used both the solid and variegated DMC floss.

While I was working on it, I also came up with, in my opinion, is a brilliant idea and have begun to sketch out my next idea using the primitive tree design.  Can’t wait to put it together.

You should try it too, it was a lot of fun.

Note: These are not the original pictures that I first posted.  I wasn’t pleased with the quality so I retook them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stitchery

Leave a Reply

