Introducing… My Second Quilt

During September I went to the Creative Stitches Show held at the Round Up Centre and found the most wonderful booth ever.  The ladies (who are wonderfully fun) are from a shop called The Quilt Shop in Moose Jaw.  While I was there they offered these fun workshops on some quilts patterns using fat quarters and charm packs.  Since I love both, I attended their workshop.

Their class on the charm square showed some quilt possibilities with the charm pack and offered a pattern that gave you the details about how many charm packs you needed to make a lap quilt, twin, queen or even king as well as the information about backing, binding and batting.   I picked up the pattern and use it often.

I’ve made two quilt tops already using it and finally finished quilting and binding one of them meaning I’ve completed my second quilt.

I made this for my friend Eva.  I hope she likes it.  I used the Au.then.tic. fabric collection from Sweetwater.  I love the fact that on some of the pieces it gives definitions for words like pure, fresh and authentic.  And the colors are so nice.  I also backed and bound the quilt with fabric from the collection as well.

I quilted it using straight lines vertically.

I even tried my hand at making a label for the back using some left over squares.  I used heat and bond light to attach it first and then used a blanket stitch to clean up the edge.

I think it turned out rather well, though naturally I would do a couple of things differently.

Learned Today:

If I decide to quilt vertical lines on my quilt I need to spread them out a little more than I did, I started to go cross-eyed.

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Introducing… My Second Quilt

  1. Fabulous quilt Jen, I love that fabric. I’ve just finished using some scraps of Authentic to make a pencil roll for one of my daughters (doing another art degree at Uni) and it looks great.
    Lizzie
    xxx

    • Jen

      Thanks Lizzie. I bet the pencil roll would look so cute in the fabric line. I love Sweetwater’s fabric. Working with their Making Life right now.

Leave a Reply

