Finished: Grandma’s Quilt

For the past few months I’ve been working on and off on a quilt for my Grandma.  She lives in Lethbridge and has been a sewist for as long as I can remember.  I wanted to make her a quilt that she could snuggle up with.

I found a great pattern at the Moda Bake Shop by Rachel Griffith, of www.psiquilt.com, called the Christmas Table Topper.  It is a disappearing nine patch and measures about 48″ square.

It calls for two charm packs and your choice of solid fabric to act as sashing.  I used Kansas Troubles Butterfly Gardens.

I quilted it using a grid pattern and a neutral colored thread.

Tuesday my folks and I went to  Lethbridge to visit my Grandma and Grandpa.  We had a nice drive, though I can’t remember much because I was once again busy hand stitching some Cinderberry Stitches designs.  The day was very nice and a wonderful chance to catch up and find out what has been going on with them.  We had a nice lunch, headed to a fabulous quilt store called Village Quilts, a wonderful greenhouse called Green Haven and just hung out around the house.  Later on we had a great meal including my Dad’s favorite Plumi Moos (plu-ma Moose; I think that is how you would say it), which is a fruit soup.  It was pretty good actually, it has a sweet taste for sure.  Grandma also made a wonderful wildberry and apple pie with a homemade crust.  Which was delicious aswell.

I also gave my Grandma her quilt.  I really tried to pick colors that would work in her living room.

I put a label on the back of the quilt and used a blanket stitch to put it on which I would have done anyways, but my heat and bond didn’t work – AGAIN.

I think it is just the right size for a lap quilt and my Grandma uses quilts or blankets all the time.
I learned yesterday that my Grandma use to judge sewing and quilting in the fairs.  Can you believe that?  Isn’t that crazy?

I think I’ll make this pattern again, I really enjoyed it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting

Leave a Reply

