Grandpa’s Quilt

My Grandpa Bill turned 75 today.  It is hard to believe it, not because he is old but because he is too young to be that age.  Does that make sense.

I am the only grand daughter so I like to think that I had special privileges, but it came with a lot of teasing.  I was the co-pilot in the suburban, meaning I got shot gun, didn’t matter who was with us – even if it was an uncle or parent.  My grandpa took the cousins out almost EVERY Saturday.  We would do a breakfast or lunch and some type of activity, though usually the boys had a majority vote on the activity so we ended up at a lot of war museums, the weapons section of the Glenbow,  the Military supply store in Inglewood (where we would hear tales of how this piece of clothing ended up there or what that piece of clothing came with – a foot perhaps?), Spruce Meadows (where he would pretend to let the horses out, just to scare me), or some amazing trip to Parksville or the Post Hotel in Lake Louise.  Even the LONG drive to Winnipeg to visit our other cousins would be a fun trip because of the adventures Grandpa would take us on.

They are some of my best memories and the cousins still reminisce about them.

Grandpa is one of my biggest supporters.  He has sat through junior high band concerts (Mary had a little lamb – enough said), countless baseball games  -even those in my adulthood (and given me tips along the way, which I still use today), some soccer games (I remember a giant banner cheering me on – it was embarrasing), saxophone recitals, junior high productions, and dinners.  I even remember being in the hospital when I was 6 having my appendix taken out and him visiting my room late at night (well it was late for me), he probably had to charm the nurses, anyways I remember being given some beautiful jewelry from Birks.  A little diamond ring, silver bracelet and a heart shaped locket – I still have them too.

During University I had a key to his home and enjoyed many quiet dinners with him of toasted roast beef sandwiches and pringles, where he listened so attentively to the trails and tribulations of my life.

Why am I telling you all this, because you need to know who he is.  I wanted to make him something special for his birthday and my first idea unfortunately didn’t pan out – but I am still trying for another occasion so I can’t tell you what it is.  I found a great pattern in the City Quilts book for a quilt called City Harbour.  It reminded me of our trip to Parksville and the time he took us all fishing.  I stayed below pretending to drive the boat from the bottom wheel wearing my sailors hat that Grandpa picked up for me.

It went together really well.  Cherri House the author of the book wrote wonderful instructions and it went together so smoothly.

Here is the quilt top before I quilted it.

Then one day I decided I was going to quilt it, no matter how long it took.  A long time is all I’m going to say.  I did straight lines from top to bottom of either side of each seam.

Here is the finished product.

I used Kona Cottons for this project: black, deep blue, marine, ocean, nightfall (replaced with midnight), pacific, teal blue (replaced with teal), navy and the backing is indigo.

3 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting, Sewing

3 responses to “Grandpa’s Quilt

    • Jen

      Thanks Cheryl. I think it is one of my best ones yet. I’m so pleased with how it turned out. I can’t wait to try it in a different color story like yellow.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Grandpa’s Quilt « Sew What! Its just Our Daily Thread. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

