Quilt Retreat: Rocky Mountain House

The past weekend I was away at the Pioneer Ranch Camp in Rocky Mountain House for a quilt retreat.  We had perfect weather for the weekend.  It was sunny and warm, that most of the time I was trying to figure out a way to put my table and machine outside and sew in the sun.

We arrived on the Friday just before dinner with enough time to put our luggage in our cabin, get set up and make a plan of what to start with.  After dinner people went right back to work and it was hard to pull people away to hear the first part of Beth’s wonderful stories and lessons.  It was a late night with little sleep (thanks to not knowing to turn the furnace on in our cabin to keep warm) and a very early morning.  To the point where people asked if I had even gotten to bed.

Saturday was a beautiful day.  The camp was right on Crimson Lake and it was so calm.  After a morning of sewing and finishing two tops (I finished one early that morning and the second just after lunch) some of us took the canoes out on the lake for a quick paddle.  It was wonderful.  I could have stayed on the water for the rest of the afternoon.

But, I had a third top I wanted to get started on.  Or at least get it all cut.

It was such a nice time with friends.  Catching up on what they’ve been doing, learning more about them, and helping each other on projects.

As I mentioned I finished two tops.  I finished our tree skirt, which was a pattern from the Moda Bake Shop and kit from Burgundy Buttons.

I also finished a baby quilt top for a friend who just had a baby.  I love the pattern so much.  It is the second one I’ve made and I can’t wait to make a third, forth, fifth…..

I enjoyed myself at the retreat.  I can’t wait for the next one.

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting

2 responses to “Quilt Retreat: Rocky Mountain House

  1. Pingback: Vintage and Antique Quilt patterns

  2. Pingback: Tilt a Whirl | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

