Oops I did it again – No this is not the Britney song

Sung to the chorus and a verse of Britney Spear’s song Oops I did it again

Oops I did it again

I took on too much, now there is no end

Oh no, oh no, oh

Oops, there aren’t enough days

I’m getting lost in a haze

I’m not that innocent

You see my problem is this

I’m dreaming away

Wishing that I could get through without miss

I then, start counting days

Can’t you see, there’s no end, in so many ways

But to lose all my senses is just so typically me,

Oh no,Oh no, oh.

I’m sorry I couldn’t resist trying to make this song work.

Ok, seriously though, I did do it again and I seem to be running out of time to get things done.

I’ve always been the kind of person who signs up for every little thing and then is stressed to the max to try to get everything done. I even make promises to myself that “this year will be the last time I do that to myself”, and yet every year I manage to still get myself into a tight bind with projects.

What am I talking about?  Well I have discovered that I really quite enjoy block of the months or BOM type activities or anything that revolves around competition.  So this year I signed up for:

  • a couple BOM clubs through the mail (3 actually)
  • the Bible Block Quilt (which I am loving so far this year – partly because the fabric Nate picked is so awesome)
  • the Freebie 15
  • a mystery quilt
  • a quilt challenge
  • a pincushion challenge
  • a bucketlist challenge
  • and any other project I hope to accomplish (birthday quilt, end of bed quilt, baby quilts galore – all these friends with babies)

So how am I doing?  Well not so good, in my eyes anyways.  Though I am doing better then a couple days ago while I was loving life because of cold/flu medication when I started writing my own Britney song – which I hope helps explain my wackiness.

I’ve got to keep on my toes here so I’m going to share where I am on each idea, maybe it will put it into perspective for me.

  • a couple BOM clubs through the mail (3 actually)

This hasn’t actually begun yet, but from what I hear the first mailing is this week.  AAAAHHHH!

  • the Bible Block Quilt (which I am loving so far this year – partly because the fabric Nate picked is so awesome)

As of Thursday I am caught up on the 3 blocks, but still am hand sewing the centre block and working on the setting triangles.

  • the Freebie 15

I haven’t started the 3rd block yet, I have it in my possession, but have yet to start it.  I’m having trouble staying motivated on this one.

  • a mystery quilt

Don’t ask where I am.  It isn’t pretty right now.  I do have fabric bought and some cut out and put together.

  • a quilt challenge

The design is done.  The fabric cut.  And 1/4 put together.  I work at it a little at a time.

  • a pincushion challenge

I know what I’m doing.  Have the materials and pattern ready, just have to do it.

  • a bucketlist challenge

This one is out of my hands.  The quilt I picked was a BOM that is taking forever to finish because I’ve had some bad luck with my BOM supplier – they are three months behind.

  • and any other project I hope to accomplish (birthday quilt, end of bed quilt, baby quilts galore – all these friends with babies)

I have yardage bought, I know what I’m doing for each, just have to find the time to get it done.

 

Maybe, just maybe something has to be let go. What do you think?

4 Comments

Filed under Bible Block, BOM, Everyday Life

4 responses to “Oops I did it again – No this is not the Britney song

  1. Nathan

    I suppose you could always quit your job and just focus on sewing things.

  2. Nat

    Wow! That is a lot of projects! Happy New Year!!!!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Oops I did it again – an Update « Sew What!

  4. Pingback: So Far Behind – yet no real deadlines | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

