Block of the Months – The beginning

Afternoon Everyone,

Hope you all are doing well.  I’m doing wonderfully thanks.  I started a new job at the beginning of January, a new school, and I’m having a great time so far.  I have some really nice students  and we are making some good progress on the music we are learning, I’m a band teacher in case you didn’t already know.

It is also the start of a new BOM season.  A little bit ago I told you about my friend Valerie over at Pastimes Online who is offering 5 great BOM programs.

I signed up for 3 of them myself – yes three.  I know, am I crazy?  A new job, 3 BOMS, plus everything you have on your plate?  Yes, I am crazy, but I also love hand stitching in front of the TV, in the car (when I’m not driving of course), or if I have a couple minutes while I’m waiting for something.

One of the BOM’s I’m working on is Hugs and Kisses “Life is Beautiful”.  I was really excited to get started on this one as I love the little blocks, the cute creatures and the wonderful sayings.  What is unique about this BOM is that all instructions are in a wonderful little book.

Look at everything that came in my kit….

Silk pins, quilting needles, embroidery thread, Weeks Dye Works Floss, Silk to embroider on, the fuse needed, all the fabric pieces needed, and a information sheet.

I’ve really enjoyed working on it so far.  I’ve copied out 5 of my patterns on my silk and have finished stitching 3 of them so far.

I’m still working on these two.

The silk is nice to work on and the Weeks Dye Thread is amazing to stitch with – I’m loving that.  One thing I found was that even with a light box, some of the lines where a bit challenging to see and I have to trace over them with a marker to see a little more clearly.

I am also working on Crabapple Hills’ “Hocuspocus Ville”.  A halloween themed quilt with spooky houses.  It is a lot of fun.

Here is the first kit which included the fabrics, fuse, silk pins, sewing needles, Weeks Dye Works floss – 2 strand, and info sheet and the pattern.

The original pattern called for all the houses to be stitched in black floss, we were also given pumpkin floss to add a little kick to our blocks.  I also finished the stitching for that one this week.

I would love to finish putting the blocks together, but my machine had to go into the shop this week, it was a sad day.  I should be getting it back by the end of the week which I am thankful for.
Learned Today:

Weeks Dye Works 2 strand floss is amazing to work with.  You don’t have to split the floss, like most 6 strand flosses and it doesn’t get twisted and knotted as much as some of the others I’ve stitched with.

1 Comment

Filed under BOM, Stitchery

One response to “Block of the Months – The beginning

  1. Pingback: Life is Beautiful Quilt – A revisit | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

