FDSQ – 3 More Blocks Done

Well I managed to get three more blocks done of the Farmer’s Daughter Sampler Quilt (FDSQ).  Thank goodness I’m making progress.  I feel good about them too.  I really like the reproduction fabric that was included in the BOM.

Today I worked with some triangles and some other shaped blocks which were interesting to piece together with the template cutting.  I sure have to work on cutting out my fabric based on the template a little bit straighter.

The templates have been a pain – as I mentioned before.  I thought about many different ways to work with the templates.

For example:

1. I could have traced all the template (100 plus) on template plastic, then traced them all out on fabric then cut them.  That seemed like an even longer process and I was already dreading cutting out all those templates.

2. I could have traced all the templates on freezer paper so I could iron them on the fabric and rotary cut around each shape.  This one I was really leaning towards and might go to sometime during the process – especially if my cutting gets worse.

What cutting/tracing process are you using?  Or what would you suggest?

Here is block #1 – Attic Window

Block #3 – Basket (yes I know there is no handle right now – I haven’t quite figured out how to put that on.

Block # 4 – Basket Weave.  I was able to strip piece this one – YEAH!

110 blocks left – 3 block finished = 107 to go.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Quilting, The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt

2 responses to “FDSQ – 3 More Blocks Done

  1. Hi. I’m doing this one too.
    I ended up printing, then measuring. With the exception of the “bat wings”, so far the other pieces have standard measurements. (The bat wings did NOT turn out well for me, but I know it’s my seam allowance)
    For the basket, I did the block just like you did, then made 1/4 inch bias tape, tacked it at the top and sides, and took out the seam on the basket, pushed it in and resewed. It was a lot of work, but turned out cute. I will post a picture by tonight. I’m just finishing 6 (but think I may have to re-do 5).
    Julie

  2. Jen

    Thanks for the tip on the basket. I’ll give that a try. I cut out another 4 blocks today and tonight I’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

