Process: Nine-Patch Lattice Quilt

One of my closest friend is moving.  Her husband is being transfered with his job, so she is leaving.  I found out a few weeks ago and she will be gone by the first of July.  I took the news really hard.  We meet 6 years ago at a school where I was starting my teaching career.  I was told that I would be running a homeroom in the morning and so was she – the same home room.  I walked in the first day to that homeroom to see her sitting there and was wondering what was going on.  We realized the problem and decided to team teach the homeroom that year and ended up team teaching a homeroom for 4 years, until I left the school and she left to have twin boys.  There was just something about her, I felt comfortable, and we connected instantly.  We were inseparable at school for those 4 years.  If you wanted to find one of us, look for other.  We were the “kids”, fooling around, playing jokes, being us.  It was awesome.  She was one person I was able to speak with completely and openly – all those things you’ve always wanted to say to someone, but have been afraid – we could do that with each.  It was an odd team – the band teacher and the gym teacher.  Many of my band friends never quite understood it, it is pretty uncommon – but for us it worked.  We lived together for a year and she introduced me to my husband.  Man, am I going to miss her.

I decided to make her a quilt as her going away present.  But this one was pain staking.  I didn’t have a clue what to do for her, I know what she likes, but I could quite find a way to translate it.

I mean how do you take this style……

And translate it into a quilt?

We what it meant, look through every book, blog, pattern that I have, know, and love and find a “modern” type pattern that would work.  And I did, and it took a long time to go through everything.  I was even asking Nate for his advice on what he thought would be the best.  Then I found this…

(From Oh, Fransson!)

It is from the Oh, Fransson! blog by Elizabeth Hartman and it called the Nine Patch Lattice.  The pattern is only for a baby quilt, but I added some rows to make it a lap quilt.

After this first hard step was done, picking all the fabrics was next, and that was very challenging.  I had trouble carrying around 12 bolts of fabric so I pushed them around on an office chair, going back and forth, and back and forth trying to pick the right color scheme.  I really wanted to use the grey, but the store I went to have a pewter color – too much of a pink undertone for me.

Here is what I came up with.   The green/grey is for the 9 patch, and the black and grey is the back and binding.

I got it all cut, the strips pieced, the 9 patches together, it up on the design wall and as of yesterday the TOP is FINISHED!

But for now, this is all I am sharing with you.  Just in case.

Learned Today:

Oh, Fransson! writes a terrific pattern with great diagrams.  You should check out some of her other ones.

4 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting

4 responses to “Process: Nine-Patch Lattice Quilt

  1. Oh I feel so sorry for you- a friend that is a soulmate is hard to find!

  2. Nat

    What a gorgeous quilt. Love your colors and patterns. Sorry to hear your friend is moving away! 😦

  3. Pingback: Nine Patch Lattice – Finished | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

