One Block Challenge

This year at guild we had a challenge to create a quilt that was a minimum of 30″ x 30″, made using only one block and at least 10 different fabrics.

This is what I made.  I saw one a small version up in a store and immediately knew that was the one for me.  It was originally a two block pattern a 16 patch with a pin wheel.  But when I first saw it, I actually saw it as a one block on point (diamond shape, not square).  I drew the block design and sketched out what it might look like as a quilt.  The problem was the quilt I sketched out was a one block, it had little triangles in the corners (called setting triangles) to make it a square shape.
For Christmas Nate got me the EQ7 software, so I designed the block using the software and worked on a quilt layout.  Then I found the one that allowed me to use half of one of the blocks to create the setting triangles which DIDN’T break the rules.

I really like how it turned out.  I used batik fabrics that my Grandpa gave me – there are over 40 of them in here.  It is going to be my first quilt that I will hang on my wall.

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Quilting

One response to “One Block Challenge

  1. I like this! A very unique way to interpret the one block challenge.

Leave a Reply

