Nine Patch Lattice – Finished

Here is it.  My Nine Patch Lattice quilt which was a pattern from Oh, Fransson!  As I mentioned in a previous post, this was being made for one of my closest friends, who is leaving with her family for another city.

I just love how this one turned out.  I’m so happy I went with black solid blocks instead of the grey, a dark charcoal binding, and the hours it took to pick the green and grey was well worth it in the end.

Picking the fabric was just tricky.  I didn’t know where to begin at all.  I knew I had to have 12 fat quarters to make it (because I added three rows), I knew I wanted 3 grey and the rest green, but that was it.  I didn’t know which green to go with, a dark one, a yellowy one, a limey one, a mix?  *sigh*  When I hit the store, I started with wandering around.  I made two loops to the store and picked a place to start.  Grey was actually the first color I picked.  I knew I didn’t want that pinky undertone grey, like pewter, so that was a place to start.  Greens were really tricky.  I would take some put them on my rolling chair and step back to look at them.  I pushed that stupid chair for two hours picking fabric, putting it back, grabbing it again, putting it back again – it was crazy.  But after all, I am so pleased with how they turned out.

 I even had 4 blocks extra that I put on the back.  Which I oddly love just as much.

Learned Today:  When your husband is kind enough to hold your quilts for pictures, make sure you ask him to take his white socks off if he is planning on wearing sandals.  How embarrassing is this?

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting

2 responses to “Nine Patch Lattice – Finished

  1. Nathan

    The life of a fashion model isn’t easy, but I do my best.

  2. Pingback: Quilt Process #1: The Purpose and the Pattern | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

