Hocus Pocusville Top – Finished

Today I finished my Hocus Pocusville (by Crabapple Hill Studios) top.  I’ve had my stitching blocks completed for a while, just haven’t had a good chunk of the day to get it put together.  I had one more corner block to do and the borders to put on.  This was the BOM that I started in January with Valerie at Pastimes Online.    She changed the setting from the original and I sure like how it turned out.

I picked a black with yellow spots for my large border and this orangy red for the piper border.  Then discovered that my corner blocks were the orangy red and they didn’t show the borders so I took out the corners and flipped them around so the grey squares were in the corner.  Now I can see the the little border.

Through out this BOM I only used two colors a black and an orange.  I also used some seed beads in those colors to act as mini lights for around some of the signs.

This quilt top combines silk and cotton fabric and was stitched with Weeks Dye Works floss in Pumpkin and Mascara.

Valerie decided that she was going to have the outer border be mitered.  I had never done them before – NEVER.  I didn’t even have the first clue how to start, but her blog had a great tutorial on it and it was a breeze.

Sorry for the thread that made it into the picture 🙂

My only question is HOW SHOULD I QUILT IT?

4 Comments

Filed under BOM, Stitchery

4 responses to “Hocus Pocusville Top – Finished

  1. dianne

    wow! that is really spook-tacular and boo-tiful! ( i couldn’t resist)
    congratulations on completing it.
    m

  2. I can see you put a lot of work into this beautiful quilt! I am not sure how you would quilt it because obviously you don’t want to interfere with the embroidered blocks. I guess I would stitch around those blocks and put some magic in the 9 patches. I’d love to see it when it is done!

    • Jen

      Hi Michelle. Thanks so much for stopping by the blog and replying. It was great to read your words. Good idea about putting magic into the 9 patches – that is a terrific idea. Thank you so much for the idea.

Leave a Reply

