Quilted Journal Class – With Hanne

At my very first Creative Stitches Show, I fell in love with a sunflower quilt.  It jumped off the fabric.  The roots hanging below with wonderful rich beads and petals leaping off the side.  (sorry for the bad picture)

I loved it so much.  Then my friend Anne introduced me to the artist Hanne Seidel, a friend of hers.  I was floored by her work and knew then that I would love to take a class with her, ANY CLASS.

At the last quilt retreat, Hanne came and had some of her amazing work.  Below is one of the pieces she was working on.  I loved it.  I thought her quilting was amazing.

She also had these amazing quilted journal covers.  They were just using scraps, some organza, and free motion quilting.  There was such ohhs and ahhs about them that the guild asked Hanne (Hanna) to come and give a class on the journals.

The first photo is one of her quilted samples.  Isn’t it amazing?  The picture below is what the background of the project is before you add your wonderful organza to it.

 

When we arrived on Saturday morning we were told that you wouldn’t need your sewing machines right away, but you would need some backing fabric, batting and your scraps – OF ALL SIZES AND SHAPES.  The rule – NO STRAIGHT CUTTING with ruler and rotary cutters, just scissors.  This is a terrific project for all those tiny bits, skinny bits, big bits and medium bits.

We started out just like you would when you were sandwiching a quilt.  But instead of a top you layer the scraps – RANDOMLY.  For someone like me, that was incredibly difficult.  But I gave it a whirl and LIKED IT!  Once we had our scraps layered we could add some paints, ribbons, or this wonderful glittery stuff.  Hanne brought with her 6 different colors of organza that we layered on top.  She suggested that you try each of the colors on top of your piece.  Each color changed the look of the journal cover dramatically.  I really liked a dark navy and went with it.

After a nice lunch, we basted the cover and began our free motion quilting.  I was super nervous about it, but had some tricks up my sleeve that Anna taught us at the free motion quilting workshop.  I went back and forth with 6 different colors of thread, trying pebbles, feathers, spirals, and waves.  I was so sad when they said it was over and time to go home.

Well, I wanted to be finished my journal in one day, Hanne said it was possible, so I walked into the house and set back up again and quilted my heart away.  Got it done too.   Here is the front.

Back

Full Cover

I had such a wonderful time at the class.  It is such a terrific project to use your scraps with and the applications for this idea are endless – or in my head there are.

LEARNED TODAY: I have a lot of scraps, meaning I can make a lot of quilted journals 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting, Sewing

4 responses to “Quilted Journal Class – With Hanne

  1. Nathan

    Your journal cover looks great. You did a good job.

  2. Awesome. All of them. The photo called: “Hanne’s Journal”, that I love most of all.

    Happy New Year!

    • Jen

      Happy New Year to you too. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I love Hanne’s Journal too. Hanne, the instructor, made that especially for the class to show us the possibilities. I love her thread painting.

  3. Pingback: Free Motion Kindle Case | Sew What!

Leave a Reply

