FNQG: Christmas Wrap Up

This last weekend the guild I’m in, The Flying Needles Quilt Guild, did their Christmas Wrap Up and Potluck.  We had our show and  tell, Christmas exchange and a potluck lunch together.

Last year, for the Christmas exchange we made stockings and filled them.  This year we made shoe bags and filled it with a little something.

I had a pattern from Janelle Wind called “Tis the Season” that used this embroidery pattern on an apron or table cloth.  I thought it was so pretty that I wanted to put it on the shoe bag.

I used a dark tan linen for the outside, and this fun black/tan animal type print for the lining (sorry no picture here).  I stitched it with a DMC raspberry thread.

I filled it this year with a homemade traveling sewing kit.  I found this cute little kit on pinterest and a TERRIFIC tutorial from “Lots of Pink Here.”

I used some Amy Butler fabric – but I’m sorry I can’t remember which one it was, it was part of a fat quarter bundle I had.

Sorry about my blurry picture.  I’m not as stable taking photos with my iphone as I would like to be 😦  I filled it with a measuring tape, water soluable pen, needles, pins, floss, thread and scissors.  I also included a couple of fat quarters as well.

To exchange our shoe bags we sit around a the table with our bags and follow along with a little story.  When we hear the word “right” or “left” we pass our bags.  I was fortunate enough to get Ana Buzzalino’s bag.

She hand painted a beautiful pear, used beautiful fabrics and put covered washers on the ends of the bag.

Look at all the wonderful goodies I got.  SO LUCKY!

It was a really fun day.  The lunch was wonderful, the company better.  Now to really focus and get my Christmas shopping done.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Life, Sewing, Stitchery

Leave a Reply

