Thirty First Birthday

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday dear me, Happy Birthday to ME!

Today is my 31st birthday.  I’m not sure how I feel about being 31 yet, but so far so good.  Since leaving the glorious ages of the twenties, I haven’t been very excited about entering the 30s.  I don’t know why?  Maybe because it is the THIRTIES and it is getting “older” (said behind my hand in a whisper).

My 30s weren’t too bad to be honest.  But still I feel not easy about being in my 30s.

I’ve decided that this year I am going to make a list of things I would like to do before I hit 32.

1.  Learn to paddleboard

2. Finish a quilt with embroidery in it.

3. Snorkel so I am not afraid

4. Make a multiple layer cake

5. Mountain Bike up the Big Hill more then once

6.  Bake fancy bread.

7. Kayak in Hawaii

8. Make a tetris quilt

9.  Finish Tail Feathers quilt

10.  Throw a Bridal Shower for Al

11.  See my best friend, Al, married

12.  Camping with Cam and Lauren

13.  Get my endurance up

14.  Lose 15 lbs

15. Learn to stop in my hockey skates

16.  Knit a pair of leg warmers

17.  Go to Kalispell

18.  Visit the Kingston Farmers Market

19. Finish Nate’s Birthday Quilt

20. Switch out the photos in the living room frames

21. Get better at putting things away once I am finished with them

22.  Make a ticker tape quilt

23. Try a new resturant

24.  Visit Barrier Lake

25.  Take more photos of life

26.  Get printed our yearly photo books

27. Begin a mini book as a portfolio

28. Sort my closet and sock drawer (again)

29. Visit Canmore and Banff with Nate

30. Take a weekend away with Nate

31. Read 25 books.

There is my list.  I wonder how many I will get through.  🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life

11 responses to “Thirty First Birthday

  1. Darcie

    Happy Birthday!! 30 was my best birthday ever, 29 my worst. I think 29 was hoorible because I was anticipating 30, so I got my dread out of the way early. I loved my thirties because I still looked like I was in my 20s but had a much stronger sense of who I was – I guess – comfortable in my own skin for the first time in my life. I wish you the same!

    What a great to do list! I hope you complete it!

    • Jen

      Thanks Darcie. I like your thinking, still looking like I’m in my 20s but a stronger sense of myself. Thanks for that – I feel better.

  2. Nat

    Happy birthday Jen!!! Have a wonderful day and let yourself get spoiled!
    May 31 be your best year yet!

  3. Karen

    Happy Birthday, Jen! Wow, ambitious! You have a great list there! Good luck! 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday!!!! I am so impressed that you pulled together such a list!-D I have a friend who always says “think big and cut-er in half”. Even if you make it 1/2 way, that is quite an achievement! I do love lists that give a challenge and allow me to cross off items. A tangible that shows forward motion…..Yay! Enjoy YOUR day! Hugs, Doreen

  5. Lauren

    Jen we can knock two things off the list by camping near Barrier or Kalispel! I want to make a goal list too now good idea! I am excited to hear about your quilting and outdoor adventures as 31 yr old Jen!

  6. When is the trip to Hawaii, because there is a lot on that list that can be crossed off there?

    • Jen

      We are off in July. We went last year as well and LOVE it. So many great things to do that we didn’t get a chance to do.

Leave a Reply

