Hoop Travel Bag

I am embarrassed to say that I have been toting my stitching around with me in this large ziplock bag.  It wasn’t so bad for a while, but I was always apprehensive to take it out and work on my stitching because it was in a ziplock.  It got worse in September when a man, John Antonetti, talked about the two different kind of learners, the Melissa Sue’s or a Bubba.  With the description he gave of Melissa Sue (someone who is there to make your life as a teacher easier, highly organized), stating that she was one who had all her highlighters, pens, etc in her bag in a ziplock bag ready to go.  I had TWO ziplock bags in school bag.  One with my stitching and one with my pens and such.

Since then I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect stitching bag.  As I’ve mentioned before I have a love affair with  pinterest and I’ve seen some terrific stitching bags.

Source: flickr.com via Jen on Pinterest

Source: fairyfacedesigns.blogspot.com via Jen on Pinterest

Aren’t those terrific?  Then I discovered that those bags were a pattern by a fun company called The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery.  The pattern is called the Hoop Travel Bag.

Source: meylah.com via Jen on Pinterest

Yes, it has a zipper.  You need to be prepared to put in a zipper.  Though – this pattern is for beginners and up.  I’ve only put in 1 zipper in my life, so I would call myself a beginner.  But I managed to do it.

Alright, it might have taken me three tries with the zipper, but I got it.  And it works!  I enjoyed making it so much, I am already plotting to make my second one.

I am able to get my stitching in there, pattern, needle case, floss case and much more in there.  It is terrific.

What’s nice about the hoop bag is you can either make a quilted one or not.

If you are intimidated by zippers, but want to make this – I say go for it.  They included instructions with pictures to help you along and instructions that make sense.  You will totally be able to put one together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilting, Sewing, Stitchery

Leave a Reply

