Ticker Tape Quilt Complete

I’ve always wanted to make a ticker tape quilt.  What is a ticker tape quilt?  Well….

Source: flickr.com via Jen on Pinterest

I think it gets its name from the days of ticker tape where paper strip which ran through a machine called a stock ticker, which printed abbreviated company names as alphabetic symbols followed by numeric stock transaction price and volume information. 

I remember seeing pictures of ticker tape parades where those little slips of paper were cut up and thrown into the air.

And as you can see a Ticker tape quilt is much the same, except there are little pieces of fabric sewn onto a quilt sandwich (backing, batting and a top).

It looked simple enough – or so I thought.  (alright it wasn’t so bad at all, there was only one snag that bothered me the most)

Crazy Mom Quilts did a terrific tutorial on it for Sew Mama Sew.  So I followed along with every step…..sort of.

I started out with going through all my scrap buckets and bins to find pieces that were already small so I didn’t have to do a ton of cutting.  I made my quilt sandwich and unlike Amanda Jean I did not put a piece of fabric down and stitch around it.  Nope, I treated it much like a jigsaw puzzle with space in between each piece.  I instead went through my fabric and cut them into little pieces, nothing really no bigger then 2″x3″.  So I would lay out one piece, then another, then another, etc, etc, etc.  Once I was happy with my layout I pinned each piece down.  Some people recommended glue – I didn’t have any so I pinned – because I had plenty of those.

Stitching them down was next.  This was the part that was my snag.  Amanda Jean recommended doing a small backstitch at the beginning and end of each of the squares so they wouldn’t move.  Someone else recommended bringing the bobbin thread up and tying it, then hiding the thread (that is a lot of tying and hiding – no thank you).  Others said a lockstitch – that worked pretty good, but just pretty good not great.

I tried all of those method.  The lockstitch and the backstitch were the best options, but I still found that it wasn’t as clean on the back as I wanted it to be.

But I did finish it.  Two in fact, because one is being shipped off to the state of NY for my swap partner in the TICKER TAPE swap.

Without further adieu

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  I wasn’t going for a color scheme (way), but I ended up with one.   Oh well.  I like it and it is another thing to cross off my 31 list.  

5 Comments

Filed under Quilting

5 responses to “Ticker Tape Quilt Complete

  1. I can see that it really might not be as simple/easy as it first appears. Securing the pieces was one of the things I had thought of and keeping the pieces in vertical/horizontal lines would be the other. A lot of shifting goes on when maneuvering a quilt in a machine so that would be my challenge. Really like the potential for creativity, though. The ‘mosaic tile’ effect is really neat!!!!! Hugs, Doreen

    • Jen

      It is a super neat effect. I can’t image trying to complete anything bigger than a 12×10″ square. But there is some great potential. I just recently read of a women who did a zigzag stitch around each square to eliminate the backstitch problem.

      • Will have to explore this further. It really is such a cool result! Thanks so much for sharing. Definitely something to be pursued (maybe a small table cover for our front porch!).

  2. This is amazing. I finally got to the point that I’ve been, guiltily I might add, throwing my scraps away. No more! I can’t wait to try it.

    • Jen

      Hi Maria. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It is a terrific way to use those little bits of scraps. I have a tupperware I keep with my tiny scraps now and have been using them to make these. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

