Ian’s Baby Quilt

I have been trying to write this post for a couple of days now, with no luck.  Better late then ever.  

A while back (February in fact) I shared with you this sneak peak

I am finally able to unveil it.  This is Baby Ian’s Quilt.

He is the first born son to our friends Nathalie and Calum.

This quilt was tricky for me to make.  Not because it was a difficult pattern or anything like that, but because I struggled with my fabric choices.  This pattern is by Thimble Blossom’s called Coming Soon.

This was my inspiration for the quilt.  I had similar fabric (from the same collection), but opted for a darker grey to use as the sashing.  I tried to find a similar teal to use as the centres, but the three fabric choices that I made weren’t right at all.  So I went with the red/salmon? fabric that was in the BLISS Fat Quarter Bundle.  I loved the blocks individually, but as I started to put the top together I was taken back by how BRIGHT it appeared.  I was going to subtle – missed the mark on that one.

I asked EVERYONE their thoughts.  Nate, my friend Lauren, my friend Valerie – who asked her husband for advice too.  Everyone said they liked the red and to leave it.  So I did, and I’m now glad I did.  Once I got it quilted it just felt right.

I have this terrific GRASS GREEN back (by Kona Cotton).

A couple of weeks ago was Nat’s shower and I was finally able to give it to her – and share it with you.

Pattern: Coming Soon by Thimble Blossoms

Fabric: Bliss and Ruby by Thimble Blossoms and Kona Cotton (ash, snow and grass)

Pieced and Quilted by Me.

9 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life, Quilting

9 responses to “Ian’s Baby Quilt

  1. Oh my!!! That is so gorgeous!!! The red is a knock out! You definitely scored a “home run” on this one. A totally different look and it would be my preference!!

  2. Nat

    Thank you so much for this beautiful quilt! Ian loves looking at it and soon will be playing on it too. The green back and polka dots around the edges are so fun too! xoxo See you tomorrow!

  3. Fabulous! I love the modern designs 🙂

  4. Nathan

    Who is that good looking guy in the blue shirt?

Leave a Reply

