More Baby Quilts

I FINALLY get to unveil 2 quilts that I have had on the go for quite a few months since both recipients have now had their baby showers where I could finally gift them to them.

The first one I’d like to share with you was made for my friend Christine.  She teaches with me at school and is a hilarious, bubbly girl.  She too is having a little girl, could be any day now too.  Christine told me back in October that she was expecting and I was over the moon, because by the time she told me, we knew we were having a baby which meant another fun girl to do mom activities with.

Quilt Deets:

Pattern name: Hopscotch by the Quilt Patch
size: ?
fabrics: Bliss by Thimble Blossoms and Kona Cotton (Lagoon)

This pattern, Hopscotch, is a pattern I have made now 5-6 times.  It is a pretty straight forward pattern that uses mostly fat quarters and some yardage (for the binding and inner border).  You can easily get it cut and the top pieced in a day, for the small version at least.

I really like the way this one came out.  Nate helped me to pick out the fabric for it, he wanted that mentioned, though it was my idea to go with the BRIGHT inner border.  I didn’t know how I would feel about it, but when I saw it on, it somehow just made the colors POP!

The second one I did was for my friend Lauren, from Wilting with Lauren fame.  Her and her husband told us they were expecting back in the fall.  Then I began my search for the perfect pattern and fabric.  Something that screamed LAUREN!  Its funny, I really do try and match the pattern and fabric to the people I am making my quilts for.  Anyways, I had just gotten the latest “flyer” from Connecting Threads and was perusing through it, when out jumped the perfect pattern and fabric.

This fantastic star in BRIGHT COLORS.  It yelled, fun, joyful – LAUREN.  I showed Nate and he agreed that would be perfect for them so I ordered it.  Luckily it came just before I went to the October Quilt Retreat.  I’ve been showing sneak peaks of the quilt for a little while now…. because it almost killed me to keep this one a secret.

Quilt Deets:

Pattern name: Sparkle Plenty

size: 48″ Square

fabrics: Homefront by Connecting Threads

Oh how I love this one.  I love the stars and how they echo themselves and build out.  I love the contrast of the black (polka dot by the way) and the bright primary colors.  I hate half square triangles, we are frenemies after all, but oh I would make this quilt again in a HEART BEAT!

These were the last two baby quilts I made before I had to concentrate on the ones I needed to make for my little one.  But I’m glad I ended with these.  Will I start making more baby quilts?  OH YEAH! Without a doubt, but they might have to wait just a little bit.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Quilting, Wilting with Lauren

2 responses to “More Baby Quilts

  1. Shirley

    I would like the pattern to do hopscotch quilt which you have shown. I would like to make one for a double bed. How much fabric do I need and also how many different fabrics do I use.

Leave a Reply

