Baby Girl’s Quilt – Hopscotch

I’m sorry for my absence on the blog lately.  We haven’t had our baby yet, but it is close – very close.  And because we are so close, we’ve been very busy.  Car seats to install, bags to pack, packing list items to get, nurseries to finish, etc.

Luckily though I was able to finish the nursery and our baby girl’s quilts and I wanted to share with you one of the quilts.

This quilt is called Hopscotch and the pattern comes from a couple of gals in Moosejaw, SK, who own a company called The Quilt Patch.    They are super nice ladies and I do like their patterns.

This Hopscotch pattern I have made about 5 times.  I’ve done 4 “baby” versions for friends and family and so far 1 “lap quilt” version.  The “baby” version uses about 6 fat quarters and some yardage, while the “lap quilt” takes 12 fat quarters and yardage.  It is great pattern to follow.

Simple cutting instructions and piecing too.  You can easily do the “baby” top in an afternoon.  I’ve actually done the baby version, cut, pieced, basted and quilted in a weekend.

Maybe you remember when I showed you this picture. 

When I first started this quilt I had this fun striped fabric that I was hoping to use as the inner border, but once I put it in – I HATED IT!  Hated it.  I didn’t even want to finish it.  So I ripped it out and tried a solid fabric instead – which was better, way better.  What a difference a border makes.

Quilt Deets:

Pattern name: Hopscotch by the Quilt Patch
size: ?
fabrics: Mod Basic and Mod Squad by Birch; Pond by Kona Cotton

 

The fabric is the Birch Organic Fabric in Mod Basic and Mod Squad.  Organic Cotton was very interesting to use.  It has a very different feel, literally it feels different, than the typical cotton I use.  I found the edges didn’t fray as much after cutting, but it didn’t have the same fluffiness either.  I’m glad I used it and gave it a try.  It will be a great quilt for our little girl to wrap up in and crawl all over.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Girl, Everyday Life, Quilting

Leave a Reply

