32 to do: an update

It has been 5 months since I first posted my Happy Birthday Post with my 32 things that I wanted to do before my 33rd birthday.  So far I’ve been making pretty good progress – in my opinion anyways.  I’ve completed 10 tasks already. I know 10 out of 32 isn’t that much, but last year I only completed 16 altogether and I still have 7 months to go so I’m hoping to get at least 7 more things done, one a month roughly.

Some highlights are:

On July 7, Nate and I went to see Les Mis.  The touring show was in our city for a couple of weeks and we went.  It was our first evening away from Ella – which was scary.  It was wonderful, so wonderful.  But at the end of the evening I was anxious to get back to Ella.

Nate and I also went and had pedicures.  Nate had said that when I was in my last month of pregnancy and couldn’t see my toes anymore (which happened well before the last month) he would take me and get pedicures.  So we went.  Nate mostly played with the massage chair but thats ok, he still came and sat with me.  It was a lovely time.

IMG_1113

I’ve seen more movies in theatres this year than I have in a very long time.  In the last two months I’ve seen two movies in theatres Despicable Me 2 and The Wolverine.  You see at some of the theatres in town they have an event for moms and their babies.  Some call it Strollers and Stars or Reel babies.  The movies theatres have the lights up a little bit and sound lowered.  Often there is a discounted rate too and a place to park your strollers and car seats and a change area.  Because you are there with all these other moms who have babies that might fuss it some how doesn’t bother you when they start to fuss because you know there is nothing sometimes you can do about it.  Ella and I have gone with my friend Christine and her daughter Muri (who Ella WILL be best friends with).

Rice Krispie squares was also sometime I wanted to conquer.  I made them the other day and they turned out pretty well – though mine were not as soft or gooey as some I have tried.  They hardened up pretty soon.  Does anyone know how to get the Rice Krispie squares to stay soft?

I always enjoy going through my list and try to accomplish those goals also gives me something to do when I feel like I need an activity.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life

3 responses to “32 to do: an update

  1. Rice Krispy Bars: Melt together: 1 # bag marshmallows (mini marsh. melt faster!!)
    2/3 c. butter (may use 1/2 peanut butter)
    When melted, add 1 tsp. vanilla and add 8 to 10 cups Rice Krispy Cereal. Put in well greased 9″x 13″ pan.
    This is a larger recipe and makes thicker bars. It is the ratio of cereal to marshmallow/butter mixture that determines the softness. This has been my “go to” recipe for years. If you can find them, adding a cup (or more) of butterscotch chips with the peanut butter/butter mixture makes them extra yummy!!!!! Hugs…

    • Jen

      D – Thank you so much. I will give this a try. I used the official recipe but it seems it needs some tweaking. I so appreciate your help. hugs to you too.

      • Thank you and don’t eat them all at one time!!!!! If I’m making this recipe for DH and I, I cut it in 1/2 (fits better in a 9″ x 13″ than the large recipe……doesn’t get so thick). The full recipe usually goes to potlucks, larger gatherings and I use a 1/4 sheet cake pan (almost covers the pan totally).

Leave a Reply

