Life is Beautiful – Complete!

I have finally completed my Life is Beautiful Quilt.  After 2 years in the making this quilt is finally complete and I couldn’t be happier.  It has been an up and down journey with this quilt (that you can read about here) and now that it is over I am a touch sad to see it go.

I enjoyed stitching these little blocks with their fun designs and their wonderful sayings.

This is BY FAR my favourite block.  It used back stitch, feather stitch, blanket stitch, cross stitch and french knots.  I also think that the stitching on this quilt is some of my very best.  I don’t know why at all.

As I mentioned before this was a BOM put on by my friend Valerie at Pastimes Online.  It is a different colour way than the original and a scheme that I would not normally use – though I really like the way it turned out in the end.

At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about the three different colors of silk that was used as the stitching background.  The first blocks we got were in the cappuccino color and because I like structure and uniformity I just wasn’t sure.  I even contemplated purchasing extra cappuccino silk so I could keep it consistant.  But then I saw how the floss stood out on the white and thought it would work – lost a lot of sleep over nothing it seems (don’t comment Nate).

I enjoyed stitching on the silk and have done it many times after this originally started.  Though the darker the silk the harder it is to see through on a light box to trace.  I found myself retracing the shapes in a thick sharpie just to see them.  The other issue with the silk I found was the grain.  If I had the grain going left to right my silk stayed nice and flat.  If I had the grain go up and down, my stitching pulled the fabric and caused bunches.  Also the pen bleeds a touch – annoying to say the least.

Something else that I found frustrating about this quilt was the Quilt as you Go (QAYG) method that was used.

These were the 63 quilt blocks.  They have been pieced, basted and quilted and then joined together.  To do that you have to add strips to one side, front and back, then attach them to the other block and hand stitch the back.  Do you follow that at all?  I sure didn’t. I hunted around trying to find either a video or a picture tutorial on how to do it.  Luckily, Valerie made a video that was a life saver.  Once I started putting these blocks together I realized I  didn’t enjoy this type of QAYG at all – which slowed me down for sure.

Quilt Deets:

Pattern name: Life is Beautiful by Hugs N’ Kisses
Size: 58″ x 77″
Fabrics: Silk in Cappuccino, Butter and White.  Fabrics from the Lilac Parade Collection

This is a huge accomplishment for me and I am so excited to be done.  And UFO I can cross off the list – now onto the rest of them.

3 Comments

Filed under BOM, Everyday Life, Quilting, Sewing, Stitchery

3 responses to “Life is Beautiful – Complete!

  1. You have every right to be very proud of yourself and pleased with the outcome. It is truly a work of art and will be cherished for years to come. Beautiful! Hugs and blessings……..

  2. welennah

    It looks marvellous – you can be proud of your achievement!

Leave a Reply

