Crafting is a Sport

How many of you have heard something to the affect of, “Oh, you are JUST crafting, well I am ___________ (insert sport/athletic event/physical activity).”  Trying to make you feel as though you are doing something, well,  below what they are doing?  Well I have.  And I am here to set the record straight.

CRAFTING IS A SPORT. 

Myself, I am a quilter/sewist/a new crocheter.  I have dabbled in jewellery making, knitting and done some serious scrap booking, but I take my quilting/sewing and crocheting seriously right now so my examples will be based on them.

As I said CRAFTING is a SPORT.  According to the dictionary the definition of a sport is

“an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment.”

Well come on people, crafting totally involves skill.  You’ve seen people’s quilts and think, “how did they get the points so perfect,” or “look at that free motion quilting,” or “really? that is hand quilted”.  Or people’s crocheted works – I still marvel after the crocheted Sheldon Cooper  I saw.  Those all takes skill.  What about  people who make beautiful jewellery?  Or scrapbook pages?  My friend Michelle and Paula are amazing knitters – AH.MAZE.ING.  Painting, clothing making, it all takes skill.

Ok, next part of the definition….competes against each other.  Every guild/club/studio has competitions, if it is viewer’s choice, or meeting a club challenge, or being entered into juried shows where there is a prize – even if it is just bragging rights.    I know ladies who stay up until 3-4am to make sure they have something to enter for the competitions.  There is competition.  And like sports you congratulated the winner and shake their hand, but in your own mind you are totally thinking how the victory should have been YOURS!

Physical exertion?  Have you ever hauled around a king sized quilt with about 1000 safety pins in a domestic sewing machine with only 6-7″ throat space between your needle and the machine?  Then you know all about physical exertion.  Aching shoulders, tired arms, tension across your neck for hours on end- physical exertion.   What about basting that king size quilt?  Huddled over it, feet getting sore, back aching, fingers past the point of no return then you have felt the burn.  Or the tension in your wrist from cutting out little paper flowers for scrap booking and all the glueing.

What about injuries?  They are totally in crafting as well.  There is blood from needles being stabbed in your fingers, or pins when it comes to basting.  There are scissor mishaps too.  I’ve seen people get attacked by their sewing machine needles when one breaks or when it runs over their finger.  There has also been those dreadful pictures of a misguided rotary cutter and fingers….oh I shudder just thinking about that and all those stitches.  And I’ll be honest with you, I think I just caused myself tennis elbow from all the crocheting and hand stitching I’ve been doing.  And what will I do to fix it?  Maybe a brace, a regiment of icing and physio?  Will I stop?  NO WAY!  Because if Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos) can play through his injuries and still win – then so can I.

CRAFTING IS A SPORT, plain and simple!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Everyday Life, Quilting, Sewing

4 responses to “Crafting is a Sport

  1. AMEN!!!!! Now, on to the Olympics!!!!!!! (Is that Paducah???? LOL!) Hugs …………………………………………..

  2. Shirley

    Was looking for the guild website and came across this article. I totally agree. Thanks for putting to words what we all have long fear!!

Leave a Reply

