Brown Bag Challenge 2014

What a year the guild had this year.  One of the challenges we had this year was the Brown Bag challenge.  Each participant put 4 fat quarters into a brown bag.  Then each participant selected a different brown bag and their goal was to make a quilt out of those fat quarters and 1 meter of fabric that you added.

It has become one of my favorite challenges.  Probably because it is so challenging.  You have only a certain amount of fabric that you have to make something out of.  It is probably easier than I make it, but I always try to get the most BANG for my fabric buck.  I could make something on the smaller size and have lots of fabric left over, but I try to make a nice size wall hanging or table cover.

Thanks to the help of Canoe Ridge Creations  and her Fresh Mini Club.  This pattern is called Fireworks and it w as the pattern from July 2013.

This was the back.  I had to use every last inch of fabric I had left to complete it.  I had bits and pieces left.

I did some straight line quilting as well. That took a lot more time then I had thought, but I really liked the end result.

This is the one that I got.  Isn’t it wonderful.  My friend Donna made it, though I had no idea when I selected the brown bag in June.  That was the twist this year.  In June when you brought the finished quilt, you put it in a brown bag and on the table.  During our last guild meeting the participants then picked another bag and whatever quilt/quilted item was inside you got.

The one I got has a home on my coffee table and it is perfect.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Flying Needles Quilt Guild Millarville, Quilting

3 responses to “Brown Bag Challenge 2014

  1. The fabric is the total for the backing, also?? That runner is lovely. Our small group is always looking for some clever challenge/exchange. This has some possibilities.

Leave a Reply

