Oh Summer, where are you going?

Right now I am in the throws of getting ready for back to school. Oh the prep work for back to school!  Schedules, calendars, lesson/unit/long range plans, first classes, etc.   But along with that comes prepping the new guild schedule/program/brochure, finishing a commission quilt I am working on, back to school shopping, while still enjoying the last bit of summer that remains.

august

During Ella’s naps I try to spread my time between the projects.  A little school here, a little quilting here, a little housework there, and guild planning also….there.  And its not like I’ve been procrastinating and waiting till August to work on stuff.  I’ve been working on guild stuff and school stuff since the beginning of July, its just been in smaller chunks of time instead of a few full days and I’m done.

But with all that, Ella and I have had a great summer together.    We have gone biking most days or for walks, visited friends and were outside as much as we could be.  Ella and I just wrapped up swimming lessons at the pool which was a great time.  She loves the water and was happy to be in it – though it was rather cold so she was good after 30 minutes.  We visited the zoo quite a bit as well.  She is now becoming quite interactive with the animals – well as far as pointing and banging on the glass is interacting.  The spray park was another destination that we went to this summer and she had such fun, though she hasn’t quite realized that the slide is something you go down, not climb up.  Its been a rather warm summer for us, so we were thankful we splurged and got one of those little kiddie pools.  We play in it most afternoons.  To clarify, Ella plays and I get splashed.

Even though there seem to be much to do, and everyday I seem to find something new I have to do, it just doesn’t matter because we are going to enjoy this last week of summer.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Baby Girl, Everyday Life

One response to “Oh Summer, where are you going?

  1. Audrey

    As a retired Grade One and Two teacher after 35 years I wholeheartedly agree with your button. My husband and I were both teachers so our children soon learned that summer holidays were definitely different after August 15th. We had the opportunity to work in our school after that date so we would take turns going in. Though I have been retired for five years now, the middle of August always is an anxious time, like there is something I am forgetting to do. It is getting easier. I understand completely where you are at. It is an exciting, but hectic time. Enjoy the last of the summer with your little lady and have a wonderful school year. I am looking forward to substitute teaching again. After a year of retirement, I found I was missing the little ones just too much so I sub in my former school whenever I can. It fulfills my needs and helps the school—-a win-win situation.

Leave a Reply

