Trip Around the World

As I mentioned earlier I’m in the midst of organizing this upcoming years guild program.  I can’t tell you what it is yet – sorry its a surprise.

If you may remember last year we took a trip around the world in quilts.  We visited Hawaii, Japan, Amish Country, Ireland, England, and Africa.  The ladies shared the history of quilting and the techniques they used to create their quilts.  For our major challenge we created the Trip Around the World quilt.

I shared a demo in October on how to make the block using the tube method and sent the ladies on their way.  We had a great number of quilts entered into the challenge, some big and some tiny.  Look at all of them?  Isn’t it great.

In the end I made two. One was from the blocks I used in my demo.  I had the blocks complete, so I figured I should just keep going and finish it.

This was made using a jelly roll I found in Montana last summer.  I really like how this one turned out, especially after I put the “path” a little off centre.

This one is made in solids that I found at Jo-Ann’s in Montana last year.  There are 24 different colors in this.  I made this one using fat quarters.  I randomly pieced this together, starting with 2 strips, then adding another 2, then another 2.  Some of the individual blocks were UGLY and I was worried they would be awful, but it all worked out in the end.

It was a really fun challenge and a really fun quilt to make.  I have a third one cut – just have to find the time to put it together.  Maybe this year I will get it started.

1 Comment

Filed under Flying Needles Quilt Guild Millarville, Quilting

One response to “Trip Around the World

  1. Judy Gardner

    Wow Jen they’re beautiful well done, G XO

Leave a Reply

