Shiny and Brite

Off and on this summer, mostly in the evenings when a floss stealer goes to bed, I’ve been hand stitching.  I was able to finish the block stitching of the Snowman A to Zzzzz.  But alas, I’ve run out of red floss to do the fly stitches down the seam.  So until I replace the color I am on hold.

In the mean time I started a new stitching project.  I saw the Shiny and Brite at Out of Hand, when Meg Hawkley was there showcasing the Crabapple Hill Quilts.  I loved how colorful it was and the colors where so bright.

It took a couple hours to trace and I had to use the big kitchen window as my light box just didn’t cut it for this project.  The coloring was a lot of fun too, though I still need to work on my shading and blending – but in my opinion it still looks good.

The stitching chart is different than any of the other Crapapple Hill Patterns.  It takes a little section of either the top, right, left or bottom and then using a bold line shows you which lines in that section are a certain color.  I do like working with one color and then move to another, but I often finish all of the color first then move to a new color.  But I’m trying it the pattern way right now.

In our LONG road trip to a wedding I was able to get about 20 hours of stitching in and got the top section done.

At this rate it will be another 60 hours to finish the stitching -yikes that seems like a super long time.  Well I’ll just keep plugging away at it.  I would love to get it finished by May.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stitchery

Leave a Reply

