Sleep Sack for Ella

Ella was in need of a new sleep sack as the winter months approached.  She has a thin cotton one, that we knew would’t be warm in the cool temperatures.  I headed out to a couple of stores to find the next size and something a little heavier than cotton.  But I had a lot of trouble finding the next size up.  Ones I found in the 18-24 month, were a shocking amount of money. Who knew a sleep sack could be $80 plus?

In the end I decided to try my hand at making one for her. I used some fabric I had left over from a quilt to make the quilted front.  I picked up some flannel to make the inside.

This was a bit more challenging than I first thought and I made some mistakes along the way, but in the end I am thrilled with the result.  Ella loves it too.  In fact, every quilt she sees she now calls a sack.  I would love to have one myself.

Since the piece had a quilted front and a flannel inside, I had to figure out, along the way, how to join those pieces together with a finished seam, AND join the pieces to make the sack again with a finished seam.  Perhaps the arm holes are a touch tight because of this mishap.  My seam ripper became a VERY GOOD friend through this project.

Now that I know how to do this, I will be able to make the next one without so many tribulations.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby Girl, Quilting

One response to “Sleep Sack for Ella

  1. I made some of these out of fleece for my granddaughter. They come in so handy.

Leave a Reply

