Hazel the Hedgehog

Good friends of ours announced that they were expecting their first child in November of 2014. Now before I continue, let me just state for the record, this quilt was finished well before now, I just haven’t blogged about it.  As I was saying, they were expecting their first baby.  They, like many, decided not to find out if the baby was a boy or a girl, which as a quilter can be challenging.  I have found some nice collections of fabrics but sometimes I struggle with what colors or fabrics to use.  I worry about using a fabric that has some florals, in case it is a boy.

Well, after some searching I came upon Elizabeth Hartman’s Hazel the Hedgehog.  I thought it was the prefect quilt to do for a little girl or boy.  I really leaned toward this one because the original was done in solid fabrics  and that is a great option when you aren’t sure if the baby will be a boy or a girl – no big flowers to worry about.

One afternoon I headed out to the local fabric store and picked some fun solid fabrics for the hedgehog spines and bodies. Of course I threw a red hedgehog in as red is one of the first colours a baby will see.  By the time I had all my supplies I had a little over a month to complete the quilt from start to finish.  Completely feasible as October is a fairly “easy” month at school.  I remember going to school on a Thursday morning and sharing with a friend which quilt and colours I was going to use. That morning I spoke with the mom to be on the phone about a surprise shower they wanted to have a work – as the dad works with me and nothing surprises him.  Then I got a text from the dad saying they were off to the hospital as the water broke.  Later that night they welcomed a beautiful little girl into the world and they moved the surprise shower up 4 weeks.  Which gave me just two weeks to complete the project.  After pulling an ALL NIGHT sewing bee in the kitchen (sorry again Nate) I was able to complete it for them.  I simply love how this one turned out.  Look at their cute faces?

The pattern is quite fun to do once you get a handle on all the spins and not misplacing them – or having someone borrow them off the table.  Because it is Elizabeth Hartman it is very well written, with great diagrams and options for bigger sizes. I love that about her patterns.  I would definitely make this pattern again, after of course I try the foxes, whales and bunnies.

1 Comment

Filed under Quilting

One response to “Hazel the Hedgehog

  1. Dianne Pauls

    Your quilts are so wonderful! Lucky baby. I love the colour combinations.

Leave a Reply

