Italy: School Trip

This March I was fortunate to be a chaperone on the school travel club’s trip to Italy.  It was the first one we had ever taken and I knew it was an experience of a life time. For months leading up to the trip I didn’t think I would be able to go.  Simply because I didn’t know if I could leave Ella and I am not the best flyer.  But as Nate and my parents said, it was a chance of a lifetime.  So I went.

After long plane rides and long layovers (Calgary – Toronto – Frankfurt – Naples) we landed in Naples and immediately began our adventure. Herculaneum and Pompeii were amazing to see, I can’t believe how they were buried under ash from Mount Vesuvius.  Then we were off to Rome for a couple of days.  My head is still spinning from all we saw in Rome.  The Colosseum, Imperial Rome, the Spanish Steps, Circus Maximus, the Vatican, and 5 or 6 Basilicas.  On our way to Florence we made a stop in Assisi.  I had the best time in Florence, we were given some free time to go around and explore and the group of girls I was with was amazing.  Loved them.   From Florence we went to Jesolo and would take a water taxi to Venice.   Venice was so busy as it was Good Friday the day we were there, but what a place it is.  I was terrified about getting lost.

I saw things I never thought I would ever get to see in my lifetime.

Italy 2015

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Life

Leave a Reply

