Swoon – Upsized

Friends of ours welcomed their second baby in May, I know I’m late on putting a post up about it.  Their second baby was a little girl.

Though, when I started making the quilt they weren’t sure if it was going to be a girl or a boy.  So I had to be careful about which fabrics to select and a pattern that didn’t scream FOR A GIRL or BOY.

Ever since making the wonderful SWOON quilt by Thimble Blossom, I knew I wanted to at some point take that block and make it BIGGER.  I thought it would be the perfect quilt for a little one.

19282259873_22e582cd41

This was easier said than done.  I made the assumption that all I had to do was do some fancy math – figure out how big I wanted it and see how much I increased it by and viola!  Defiantly wrong there. Each block normally is 18″ squared.  I thought making the block double the size would be the perfect quilt size for a child.  Because it was doubled, I just assumed that I could take that pattern and double each of the measurements and it would work out.  It did not.  I can’t even tell you how I managed in the end because there was some fancy cutting and sewing here and there to get it to come together.  But in the end I am pleased as punch with how it turned out.   The fabric came from Connecting Threads.  The yellow is from Cotton and Steel’s Leo Lounge and I am sorry to say I can’t remember the blue with yellow dots at the moment and can’t seem to find it anymore.

One day I will try this block again in this bigger size and the next time I will have to write down what I did.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Quilting

2 responses to “Swoon – Upsized

  1. Bev

    I love this quilt Jen. How do you find time to sew?

    • Jen

      I seem to be able to fit in 10 minutes here and there during that nap time. Once that naptime goes I don’t know what I’m going to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

